Home Read News Chris Bullinger Is Waitin’ To Be Seen This Summer

Chris Bullinger Is Waitin’ To Be Seen This Summer

The singer-songwriter previews his Aug. 16 release with the single Darlin’ ’n’ Me.

Chris Bullinger will release his latest album Waitin’ To Be Seen (Part 1) on Aug. 16, the singer-songwriter and poet has just announced. The conceptual collection of 23 songs features sonic vignettes woven together by thematic connections and recurring characters. Described by Chris as a reinvestment in his creativity, the album mixes classic country and rock.

The album’s lead single Darlin’ ’n’ Me showcases Bullinger’s unique blend of rock and roots influences. Describing a whimsical journey from a market run to a playful game of truth or dare, the song reflects on the beauty seen through a loved one’s eyes, framed by psychedelic lyrics and a compelling rock groove. Darlin’ ’n’ Me is a frolic alongside the notion of how beautiful someone can be through a loved one’s eyes, embodying the album’s overarching narrative of seeking authentic connections.

Raised in the Midwest and influenced by hard-luck, outlaw country singer-songwriters, Chris has made singing a defining part of his artistic identity, complemented by his soulfully weary vocals. A seasoned songwriter, he writes songs of earned-wisdom in the spirit of icons like Bob Dylan and Townes Van Zandt. “As a songwriter, I write about truth more than fact,” he explains, revealing his deep connection to the craft of storytelling through music.

In college, Chris started recording for himself, later moving between jobs to cut records in the studio. However, his music career temporarily took a backseat as his enterprising spirit led to the founding of several successful business ventures with his twin brother, including one that grew into one of the largest renewable energy power plant developers in North America. Now that he’s achieved his goals in the renewable energy business, Chris is ready to focus more of his energy on his music career.

The ensemble of Nashville musicians featured on Waitin’ To Be Seen have developed an intuitive interplay over years of working together at Nashville’s iconic Bomb Shelter Studios. This album concludes Chris’ Bomb Shelter Trilogy, a series of works that reflect his deep and enduring commitment to his music. Reflecting on his path, Chris shares, “I always felt I was doing the songs some sort of injustice not putting them out there. I feel very grateful knowing that these songs are out, and will, undoubtedly, connect with someone somewhere, whether it’s one person or one million.”

To date, Chris has recorded five critically acclaimed albums. His 2022 album, True Rendition and 2023’s How to Bleed was No. 1 Added on NACC Folk. He’s garnered 100k monthly listeners and over 2.8 million video views. As a songwriter, Chris believes the process of songwriting — and art in general — comprises three key components: Observation, empathy, and rhythm. Accordingly, he is an astute observer of the human condition, often focusing on one key instant, empathizing with it, and then expanding that moment through rhythm.

Waitin’ To Be Seen marks a pivotal moment in his career, and is a testament to his profound ability to translate the human experience into music that resonates. It’s a collection that promises to captivate and connect, reflecting both the nuances of individual stories and the universal truths of our shared human condition.

Waitin’ To Be Seen (Part 1) Track List

1 | One Complete Connection
2 | Ain’t Life Grand
3 | Doin’ Bad Good
4 | Darlin’ ‘n’ Me
5 | Up All Night
6 | Carving Tree
7 | Already Broke
8 | The Way Things Go
9 | I’m Not Comin’ Back Home
10 | Gotta Save Yourself
11 | Temporary Baby
12 | Payin’ Dues

Watch the video for Darlin’ ’n’ Me above, hear more from Chris Bullinger below, and see him on his website, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.