Home Hear Gregory Hutchinson Welcomes The New Dawn

Gregory Hutchinson Welcomes The New Dawn

The acclaimed drummer unleashes a soulful collaboration with Liselotte Östblom.


Gregory Hutchinson greets a New Dawn with the help of vocalist Liselotte Östblom on his new single — showcasing today on Tinnitist.

The third preview of the acclaimed drummer, multi-instrumentalist, and songwriter’s upcoming debut solo album Da Bang, New Dawn is a captivating collaboration with Swedish and London-based jazz artist Östblom. The track is infused with infectious rhythms and airy jazz keys, with Östblom’s soulful neo-soul vocals interweaving seamlessly with Hutchinson’s punchy drum production, creating a mesmerizing blend of melody and rhythm. Embodying personal growth and transformation, New Dawn encapsulates the exhilaration and determination of embracing a fresh start. “It’s a dawning of dreams / A new regime / The forming of a crown on my head / I’m moving on,” Östblom sings. With playful sensuality and unwavering resolve, the track invites listeners to embark on a journey of new beginnings and exciting horizons.

New Dawn follows the previously released offerings Straight From The Heart (ft. Leona Berlin & Karriem Riggins) and Blow My Mind / Let’s Take It Back (ft. Sy Smith, Javier Starks). Recorded by award-winning producer / drummer Karriem Riggins (J Dilla, Common, Robert Glasper), the 15-track Da Bang sees Hutchinson joined by an all-star lineup of unique collaborators, including such diverse friends and fellow artists as Riggins, Leona Berlin, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Vernon Reid, Christian Scott, Nicholas Payton, Kameron Corvet, Tim Smith, Sy Smith, Javier Starks, Samora, James Poyser and more.

One of the most highly regarded musicians of his generation, Hutchinson has been hailed for his work performing and recording with countless jazz greats including Betty Carter, Red Rodney, Roy Hargrove, Joshua Redman, Dianne Reeves, Lou Donaldson, Wynton Marsalis, John Scofield, Diana Krall and Harry Connick Jr., to name just a few. The Brooklyn-born, Rome-based artist grew up surrounded by music, from his late mother’s beloved soul and R&B to reggae via his percussionist father and the explosive sounds of classic hip-hop that filled the streets of N.Y.C. in the late 1970s and 1980s.

With Da Bang, Hutchinson has taken those variegated styles and fused them into a one-of-a-kind blast of genre-busting Brooklyn energy, all with a deeply personal lyrical approach hewn from his own diaries and experiences. Though soundly rooted in the jazz tradition, the album sees Hutchinson approaching his strikingly powerful songcraft with the versatility, dynamism, and imagination he has long been known for, coloring original compositions like the fiery statement of purpose, We Got Drumz (ft. Javier Starks & Soweto Kinch) and the album-closing Fly Away (ft. Nicholas Payton) with his mastery of timing, natural feel, and staggering innovation.

“Everyone knows me for playing jazz but I grew up around the corner from Biggie,” Hutchinson says. “That’s my era. I was thinking, how are we going to bring younger people to jazz music now that they are gravitating away from it. I was going through a divorce, going through different trials in life, and I decided to just do what I love to do. To just speak to the way I want to speak. Making music is, I think, supposed to be kind of like telling your life story. I’m not trying to portray anything that I’m not in the music. I just understand what makes people move and how to do that. It’s like, this is where we are.”

Listen to New Dawn and watch the video for Straight From the Heart above, check out more from Gregory Hutchinson below, and follow him on Instagram.

Da Bang Track List

1 | Straight from the Heart (ft. Leona Berlin, Karriem Riggins)
2 | What’s Best for Us (ft. PJ)
3 | So Confused (ft. Kameron Corvet)
4 | Angels Around (ft. Tim Smith)
5 | Crazy Games (ft. Leona Berlin)
6 | N………..az (Skit)
7 | My Turn Now (ft. Kameron Corvet)
8 |  Losing You (ft. Leona Berlin)
9 | Last Time We Gonna Polite (ft. Christian Scott)
10 | New Dawn (ft. Liselotte Östblom)
11 | Blow My Mind/Let’s Take It Back (ft. Sy Smith, Javier Starks)
12 | Sugar Bang Bang (Skit)
13 | We Got Drums (ft. Javier Starks, Soweto Kinch)
14 | When They’re Gone (ft. Samora)
15 | Fly Away (ft. Nicholas Payton)


Previous articleAlpha Centauri | Get Your Money Up: Exclusive Premiere
Next articleAlbums Of The Week: Brad | In the Moment That You’re Born