Home Read News Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album Of Vintage Soul Covers

Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album Of Vintage Soul Covers

The Boss celebrates the sounds of classic soul on Nov. 11's Only The Strong Survive.

Bruce Springsteen has a heart full of soul. And an album full. As he hinted at yesterday — and as Rolling Stone co-founder Jann Wenner revealed a while back — The Boss is releasing a new album this fall. That’s the good news. The … well, let’s say surprising news? Instead of a set of new guitar-fuelled rock originals with the E Street Band, it turns out it’s going to be a set of classic soul covers with Springsteen only singing and playing no guitar, which is, um, an interesting development. (Something else interesting: In his announcement video, Bruce reveals he recorded and shelved an entire album of unspecified covers before making the soul collection.) Anyway, read the official press release below, watch Springsteen explain himself, and check out the first video: A cover of Do I Love You (Indeed I Do), originally performed and written by Frank Wilson. Then mark Nov. 11 on your calendar and cross your fingers.



Bruce Springsteen‘s new studio album, a collection of 15 soul music greats titled Only The Strong Survive, will be released by Columbia Records on Nov. 11. Featuring lead vocals by Springsteen, Only The Strong Survive celebrates soul music gems from the legendary catalogues of Motown, Gamble and Huff, Stax and many more. This 21st studio album from Bruce Springsteen will also feature guest vocals by Sam Moore, as well as contributions from The E Street Horns, full string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton.

Springsteen commented: “I wanted to make an album where I just sang. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the ’60s and ’70s? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray and Scott Walker, among many others. I’ve tried to do justice to them all — and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music. My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”

Only The Strong Survive was tracked at Thrill Hill Recording in New Jersey, produced by Ron Aniello, engineered by Rob Lebret and executive produced by Jon Landau. The release will mark Springsteen’s first studio album since 2020’s Letter To You, which debuted at No. 1 in 11 countries. Springsteen will reunite with the legendary E Street Band in February for his 2023 international tour, which to date has sold over 1.6 million tickets across the United States and Europe.


1. Only the Strong Survive
2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
3. Nightshift
4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
7. When She Was My Girl
8. Hey, Western Union Man
9. I Wish It Would Rain
10. Don’t Play That Song
11. Any Other Way
12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
15. Someday We’ll Be Together


Previous article20 Questions (& More) With Sir Will
Next articleLuke Reyvn Is Out Here Baking Money Pies