Home Hear Finny McConnell Is Headed For The Dark Streets Of Love

Finny McConnell Is Headed For The Dark Streets Of Love

The Mahones frontman and founder's debut solo album is due out this fall.

Finny McConnell will be prowling The Dark Streets Of Love this fall. After 30 glorious years of leading renowned Celtic punk rockers The Mahones, founder and bandleader McConnell decided it was high time to write and produce an album for himself. The result? The Dark Streets of Love, available Sept. 2 via True North Records.

A collection of his most intimate musings to date, The Dark Streets of Love is McConnell’s love letter to everyone important in his world. Stripped bare with personal lyrics that represent not only his truth, but a truth we can all relate to, the 11-track LP includes covers of songs by Bruce Springsteen, The Tragically Hip, Lou Reed, Shane McGowan and even an outtake from an earlier Mahones release — all of which hold deep meaning to the veteran artist.

With The Mahones, McConnell has unleashed more than 20 albums to the masses, and shared the stage with the likes of The Dropkick Murphys, Shane MacGowan, Stiff Little Fingers, Billy Bragg, The Buzzcocks, Sinead O’Connor, The Damned and more.

Born in Dublin, Ireland, and based in Kingston, Ont., McConnell says his first solo album is its own homecoming — to himself. Mixed and engineered by Gene Hughes, this live-off-the-floor release is a rare peek behind the curtain to McConnell’s expansive emotional atmosphere; intricately layered reflections on loving, losing, grieving, and loving again peel away, song by song, one of punk’s most notorious leaders and his distinct point of view.

Check out his version of Atlantic City above and pre-order the album HERE.

The Dark Streets of Love track list:
Atlantic City
Someone Save Me
Stars (Oscar Wilde)
A Pair of Brown Eyes
New York City
So Far Away
Pale Blue Eyes
We’re Miles Apart
Cocktail Blues
Fiddlers Green
Back Home