Casey Baer Is Definitely Not That Girl

The rising L.A. popster stands out from the pack with her dynamic debut EP.

318

Casey Baer takes you on a journey of heartbreak, personal challenges and self-growth on her debut EP Not That Girl and the video for her single Take It Personal — showcasing today on Tinnitist.

As she gears up for her 34-date, coast-to-coast tour with Jesse McCartney next month, the rising L.A. pop artist has released a six-song collection of sassy but sensitive pop-rock that bursts with soaring emotionality, rugged beats, tough pop-rock guitars, dreamy electro-pop textures, plaintive piano balladry, and personal revelation. “All of my songs are true stories,” she confesses. “I write a lot about anxiety, heartbreak, and my relationships. I aim to go deep with my lyrics and talk about real things in my life. Growing up, I was really shy, and I had to hide my anxiety, so I turned to music to express things I couldn’t say. Now, my goal is to help as many people as possible through sharing my story in my music.”

Take It Personal is an empowering anthem that veers from the dreamy to the dramatic with Casey’s dynamically expressive vocals sweeping upward from pent-up, emotional low tones to full-voice belting. “This is a f-you song to someone who really hurt me. It’s a song that says ‘you don’t deserve me,’ ” Casey shares.

Casey is a natural performer who has been onstage since she was six, and continued pursuing music even while she battled anxiety. Her songs often contrast sad topics with hard-hitting beats and ultra-catchy hooks. Casey has garnered favorable comparisons to Tate McRae, Avril Lavigne, Madison Beer and Olivia Rodrigo. Casey has built up a wildly loyal and engaged following on TikTok and Instagram while amassing several million streams as an independent artist.

Not That Girl was executive produced by singer-songwriter Sophie Simmons. In addition, Casey, has worked with world-renowned producers such as Grammy-nominated Mike Fatkin, who produced Casey’s recently released single, Never I Have Ever, as well as Louis Schoorl, Jonathan Asperil, Max Thulin, Rasmus Budny, Selena Dosan and Alex Veronneau.

The smouldering piano ballad Never I Have I Ever oozes heart-in-your-throat longing and details a story of ill-fated love. Her words here sting, as she sings the opening lines: ‘Never have I ever made Christmas plans in June / Or bought a stupid present I would never give you / Thought about a family, we’re not even 22 / It was nice to dream about how much I would mean to you.’

The self-declaratory Not That Girl is a signature song for Casey. It balances tough, pop-rock guitars with electro-pop textures. Here, lines are drawn — Casey isn’t the kind of girl getting high in the bathroom, staying out all night, doing cocaine, and dying her hair. She’s wholesome but badass. She sings: ‘I can’t be you bad girl / Just your average sad girl / Living in a sad world/I’m not that girl / When you’re getting bad love / I won’t be your backup / Just because you’re handsome / I’m not that girl.’

Writing and recording Not That Girl has been a cathartic experience for Casey. “I cried a lot when we were making this EP, and Sophie and Mike made me feel safe and supported,” Casey admits. “Now, it means the world to share these songs and messages of hope on this upcoming tour. I can’t wait to feel that deep connection with people.”

Watch Take It Personal above, listen to Not That Girl below, check out her tour dates below that, and follow Casey Baer on Facebook, Instagram and TikTok.

 

Casey Baer – US Tour Dates (opening for Jesse McCartney)

Tuesday, May 3 – Bogart’s – Cincinnati, OH
Wednesday, May 4 – Kemba Live! – Columbus, OH
Friday, May 6 – The Fillmore – Detroit, MI
Saturday, May 7 – The Vogue – Indianapolis, IN
Monday, May 9 – Fillmore Minneapolis – Minneapolis, MN
Tuesday, May 10 – The Rave / Eagles Club – Milwaukee, WI
Wednesday, May 11 – The Truman – Kansas City, MO
Friday, May 13 – The Pageant – St. Louis, MO
Saturday, May 14 – Park West – Chicago, IL
Monday, May 16 – Big Night Live – Boston, MA
Tuesday, May 17 – Irving Plaza – New York, NY
Wednesday, May 18 – The Paramount – Huntington, NY
Friday, May 20 – Toad’s Place – New Haven, CT
Saturday, May 21 – State Theatre – Portland, Maine
Tuesday, May 24 – Stone Pony – Asbury Park, NJ
Wednesday, May 25 – Brooklyn Bowl Philly – Philadelphia, PA
Thursday, May 26 – The Fillmore – Silver Spring, MD
Tuesday, May 31 – The Ritz – Raleigh, NC
Wednesday, June 1 – The Fillmore Charlotte – Charlotte, NC
Friday, June 3 – House of Blues Myrtle Beach – North Myrtle Beach, SC
Saturday, June 4 – Buckhead Theatre – Atlanta, GA
Monday, June 6 – House of Blues Orlando – Lake Buena Vista, FL
Tuesday, June 7 – Jannus Live – St Petersburg, FL
Thursday, June 9 – Mars Music Hall – Huntsville, AL
Friday, June 10 – House of Blues New Orleans – New Orleans, LA
Saturday, June 11 – White Oak Music Hall – Houston, TX
Monday, June 13 – Emo’s Austin – Austin, TX
Tuesday, June 14 – South Side Ballroom – Dallas, TX
Wednesday, June 15 – Diamond Ballroom – Oklahoma City, OK
Friday, June 17 – Ogden Theatre – Denver, CO
Monday, June 20 – The Showbox – Seattle, WA
Tuesday, June 21 – McMenamins Crystal Ballroom – Portland, OR
Friday, June 24 – Nob Hill Masonic – San Francisco, CA
Saturday, June 25 – The Wiltern – Los Angeles, CA