Home Read Albums Of The Week: Bendigo Fletcher | Fits Of Laughter

Albums Of The Week: Bendigo Fletcher | Fits Of Laughter

The Louisville crew's ramshackle roots & soothing psychedelia go down smoooth.

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “On Fits Of Laughter, the debut album from Louisville, KY’s Bendigo Fletcher, frontman Ryan Anderson crafts the patchwork poetry of his lyrics by serenely observing the world around him. When matched with the band’s gorgeously jangly collision of country and folk-rock and dreamy psychedelia, the result are story-songs graced with raw humanity, wildly offbeat humor, and a transcendent sense of wonder.

For help in forging the album’s ragged elegance, Bendigo Fletcher worked with producer Ken Coomer (original drummer for Wilco and Uncle Tupelo), laying down the album in nine frenetic days. The album bears an undeniable immediacy, thanks in part to the band’s decision to limit the tracklist to eight essential songs (a move largely inspired by extraordinarily lean and iconic albums like Television’s Marquee Moon).

Referring to Fits Of Laughter as a coming-of-age album, Anderson also examines a more internal conflict throughout the songs, including his choice to abandon his medical-school aspirations in favor of pursuing a career in music. “The title’s really about the spectrum of emotions I’ve felt on the way to finding what makes me feel like I’m living truthfully, rather than holding onto what I think other people’s expectations are of me,” Anderson shares. “It’s a phrase that bridges all of those emotions — everything from joy to hysteria.”

Fits Of Laughter follows a trio of independent EPs that quietly amassed millions of streams and earned extensive praise. Converting audiences to fans on the road, Bendigo Fletcher have supported Mt. Joy, Nathaniel Rateliff, Rayland Baxter, Caamp and Hiss Golden Messenger on tour. Bendigo Fletcher is: Ryan Anderson (lead vocals, guitar, banjo), Andrew Shupert (backing vocals, lead guitar), Evan Wagner (backing vocals, keys, guitar, auxiliary percussion), Conner Powell (bass) and Chris Weis (drums).”