Indie Roundup | 9 Songs For A Trippy Tuesday

Lakes, Transient, Leyden Jars, 10g and more artists you should meet right now.


Lakes take a trip to the woods, Transient go on an emotional journey, Leyden Jars will help you get gone — and those are just a few of the trips in store during a Tuesday Roundup that encompasses everything from Brazilian metal and NYC jazz to U.K. indie-pop and hard-rocking holiday fare. Buckle up, settle in and enjoy the ride.


1 | Lakes | Pine Barrens

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “U.K. indie-rockers Lakes have released a video for their single Pine Barrens. Earning their stripes in pubs and clubs of the Watford scene, Lakes have been emboldened with a DIY attitude that was born from frustration of life on the peripheries of a capital city. The group’s fiercely independent attitude has led them to record all their own music, produce their own music videos and — with families of their own — organise child-friendly matinee gigs in their hometown. Their album This World Of Ours, It Came Apart was released in July.”

2 | Transient | This Heart

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “New Orleans heavy rock/metal band Transient are aiming to inspire hope and strength with their electrifying single This Heart and its enlightening video. This track explodes with energy while the video portrays the emotional journey from feeling trapped in the darkness to seeing it’s OK to be yourself. Says singer Trey J. Mollo: “This is a song dedicated to the people who were forced to hide and be ashamed because they didn’t feel accepted and felt judged because of the way they viewed life. Growing up, I dealt with that on a daily basis, and throughout the years it turned the kindness and understanding within me into rage. Along with that came foolish and selfish decisions in my life. I’m hoping that this song can bring some hope and strength to those who have walked down similar roads and show them they are not alone.”

3 | Leyden Jars | London Gone

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE:Gone is the new album by London duo Natalie Williams & Mark Courtney aka Leyden Jars, a work of fragmented musicality, electro-acoustic emission, disembodied dub, radiophonic interference, and revelatory DIY poetics. Shaped over the course of a two-year period and drawn from expansive, improvisatory recording sessions, these 10 tracks comprise the duo’s entire output during this time: a comprehensive document, born out of a consequential and fertile creative cycle. A fully formed body of work that grants both access and submergence, Gone is a captivating window into the uncanny sound world of Leyden Jars, encompassing the myriad facets that underpin the project.”

4 | 10mg | Love/Hate

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “Brazilian heavy rock band 10 mg release their third single Love / Hate, along with the lyric video by Anderson Bellini. 10mg present a unique sound with different musical backgrounds where you can see something very special happening, where the musicians bring some influences in common and many others escaped a consensus, a fact that gave an apparently unique air to the creations. Formed by people from different musical backgrounds, origins and even nationalities, 10 mg is a musical project that gradually took shape due to the uneasiness of its vocalist Peter Werny, in showing the world a vast material of compositions, seen that all the projects in which he participated previously had not evolved.”

5 | Baixo Calão | Pódio de Chegada (ft. João Gordo)

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “The Brazilian band Baixo Calão release the single and video Pódio de Chegada, featuring the famous singer of the band Ratos de Porão, João Gordo. Formed in mid-1996 in the city of Belém do Pará, Baixo Calão deliver a hardcore punk sound.”

6 | Bald Man | ’Twas

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “As the world embraces the spirit of the Yuletide season, Bald Man presents an alternative to the standard seasonal musical fare with ’Twas, a hard-rock spin on the beloved 1823 classic Christmas poem, ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas. “Every year, Christmas songs hit the radio like clockwork, and they are always the same ones. We wanted to take one of the oldest, most memorable Christmas tales that everyone knows and loves and put a new spin on it,” said Bald Man. “This Christmas turn up the volume on ‘Twas and not a creature will be stirring, not even a mouse. Trust me.”

7 | Dan Weiss Starebaby | Head Wreck

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE:Dan Weiss Starebaby, the NYC avant-jazz supergroup led by drummer Dan Weiss, present an engaging video for Head Wreck. The collective sees Weiss joined by Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle, Fantômas) on bass, Ben Monder on guitar, and the twin attack of Matt Mitchell and Craig Taborn on keyboards, pianos, and electronics. Head Wreck is found on the outfit’s acclaimed second LP Natural Selection, which saw release in September. Says Weiss: “I really like the way the video captures the energy of the recording session. I remember that I was really frustrated before this particular take — the fourth or fifth. The drum part that I wrote for myself is really demanding, and I wasn’t quite getting it. I finally nailed it in this take and let loose on the ending, improvised drum solo, hitting extremely hard and letting out my aggression. I also love everyone’s solo on this take. Monder plays some beautiful yet crushing stuff.”

8 | Sercati | Before The Battle

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “Melodic black metal combo Sercati are proud to unleash the official animated video to Before the Battle, from their latest album Devoted, Demons and Mavericks. This small old-school cartoon is a collaboration between the artist Pyel and the band. This idea was born during the first confinement and the work started few days later. The Nightstalker fights against the Anesthetist once again.”

9 | Wings Of Destiny | City On Fire

THE EDITED PRESS RELEASE: “Costa Rican power metal lords Wings Of Destiny are back to delight us with City On Fire, the first single from the upcoming album Memento Mori. Wings of Destiny were founded in 2013, influenced by such bands as Helloween, Rhapsody of Fire, Angra and Symphony X, but they’ve managed to develop a very particular and recognizable sound of their. Wings of Destiny were originally called Destiny, but due to the existence of another band of the same name in Sweden, decided to change their name to Wings of Destiny.”