Home Hear Indie Roundup (Apple & Purolator Suck Edition) | 10 Songs For Your...

Indie Roundup (Apple & Purolator Suck Edition) | 10 Songs For Your Midweek

It's been one of those days, but Everlast, Kasador, The Cassidys & more can help.


Everlast dreams, Kasador waits, The Cassidys cannonball and more in today’s Roundup. I’d like to personally thank the masterminds at Apple for destroying my computer with their latest software update and costing me a day’s work, and the amazingly diligent folks at Purolator for not even trying to deliver my Pink Floyd box set or make any attempt to contact me. Yeah, it’s been that kind of a day.

1 | Everlast | Dream State

THE PRESS RELEASE: “Multi-platinum Grammy-winning artist Everlast has dropped a new music video for his Dream State, directed by Jason Goldwatch. The Alchemist-produced Dream State is the final track on Everlast‘s most recent album, Whitey Ford’s House of Pain. “The videos that are the most fun to watch, are always the ones that were fun to make. With the perfect ratio of fine glass, fine music and fine malt liquor we let the video come to us,” comments Goldwatch. The song features Everlast rapping smoothly over an effortless blend of piano melodies and hard-hitting bass.”

2 | Kasador | Waiting

THE PRESS RELEASE: “Kingston-based alt-rock outfit Kasador have toured extensively through Canada and the USA, playing just shy of 200 shows in a year and a half. In March of 2018, the band took a step back to focus their efforts on their first full-length record, enlisting the help of producers Graham Walsh of Holy Fuck, and Rob Baker and Gord Sinclair of The Tragically Hip. Brood & Bloom, an album written through tough times and trying to find something more positive from those experiences, was released on Oct. 4. Kasador just dropped a new music video for Waiting off of the record. The accompanying video takes a gritty look at the band while they were on the road, with a real focus on the side of touring that they find so much fun. It’s a look into each member’s personality, and shows what makes Kasador so much fun to be a part of.”

3 | The Cassidys | Cannonball

THE PRESS RELEASE: “Toronto duo The Cassidys have released Cannonball, the second single from their intoxicating debut album Tula. The song exemplifies the pair’s songwriting prowess, which combines stripped down traditional folk elements with ’90s Brit-pop grandiosity. The creation of Tula marked a turning point for singer/guitarist Mark Cassidy and multi-instrumentalist Lara Goulding after several years of musical experimentation. After finding each other — Mark’s a Toronto native and Lara’s originally from Auckland, New Zealand — their next goal was to find a sound. They took their first steps on that path playing strictly folk music, basically anywhere and everywhere they could.”


4 | Eden Iris | Worse Things

THE PRESS RELEASE: “New Zealand-native, now L.A.-based artist Eden Iris has released her new single Worse Things.The song was co-written and produced by Grammy Award-winning songwriter Maia Sharp (Dixie Chicks). This week, she premiered the video. Eden began songwriting and performing at age 14. Her debut EP Crying Birds was released in March 2014 which was well received by fans and music critics in New Zealand. Eden has since moved to Los Angeles.”

5 | Mattie Leon | Silver Line

THE PRESS RELEASE:Mattie Leon shares a new live video for Silver Line. Mattie Leon is a singer/songwriter hailing from the western reaches of Toronto. A craftsman with a guitar, Mattie refuses to leave the past behind. His sensibilities are informed by the songwriting of the 60s and 70s. Silver Line, is a fresh take on classic acoustic singer/songwriter tracks; familiar but unmistakably new.”

6 | Mute Choir | Familiar Ways

THE PRESS RELEASE: “Toronto rock trio Mute Choir release a new video for Familiar Ways. The video inspiration came from a decision to “edit the studio footage together as a way of showing the humanity in our recording process. During the album sessions, we invited our friend Tyler Fyfe to capture candid footage of us at work. In this age of music technology, it can be easy to hear music like ours and assume it’s mostly computer generated. We hope you enjoy, and that this provides a better understanding of what our band is about.”

7 | Names Without Numbers | Firing Squad

THE PRESS RELEASE: “Omaha’s Names Without Numbers have dropped a lyric video for their new single Firing Squad off their second full-length album Silos & Smokestacks, which will be released this Friday, Dec. 13. The band took a long break between their debut in the early part of the last decade but fans should be stoked for the powerful and incredibly catchy follow up. For fans of Anberlin, Jimmy Eat World, Further Seems Forever, The All American Rejects, The Juliana Theory, Brandtson, Acceptance, Mae, and Eager Seas.”

8 | Town Mountain | Down Low

THE PRESS RELEASE: “Known for their rowdy, energetic performances, Town Mountain has spent most of 2019 on the road, playing major festivals and venues across the country, including the legendary Grand Ole Opry. On Sept. 30, the band made their debut at the iconic Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Colorado, to a sold-out crowd alongside prolific singer-songwriter Robert Earl Keen and Grammy nominee Tyler Childers. Today, they share the live performance of Down Low featuring Childers, who co-wrote the duet with banjo player and vocalist Jesse Langlais for Town Mountain’s most recent album New Freedom Blues. “It’s always a pleasure to do shows with Tyler and The Food Stamps,” Langlais explains. “We love the guys and we love the music, brothers in arms! And it’s always a highlight when Tyler comes up with us and performs Down Low. Especially at a venue like Red Rocks where you can just feel the energy and magic in the air.”

9 | Randall Bramblett | Vibrating Strings

THE PRESS RELEASE: “The 10th Anniversary Edition of Randall Bramblett’s 2010 studio album The Meantime will be released on Jan. 31. The 14-song set was produced by Bramblett and recorded and mixed by John Keane in Athens, GA. The new, deluxe edition of the album includes two previously unreleased bonus tracks from the original sessions and will be available on vinyl for the first time. Today, he shared the previously unreleased song Vibrating Strings. Bramblett states, “The Meantime reflected my need at the time to record a quiet and beautiful record with grand piano, upright bass and drums. I had all these songs, old and new, that were never going to fit into the guitar based records I had been making. Most importantly, subject matter of love, grief and yearning needed a lot of space and we dedicated ourselves to keeping the production very simple. I think we did a good job giving these songs what they needed to shine.”

10 | Wolff Parkinson White | Department of Failure (feat. Norah Jones)

THE PRESS RELEASE:Wolff Parkinson White is accomplished jazz drummer Jochen Rueckerts’ electronic music alias. On his fourth full length Favours, Wolff Parkinson White teams up with 13 singers, including friend and Grammy-winner Norah Jones, colleague Becca Stevens, Natalie Beridze and Gabriel Kahane. On Department of Failure, the unlikely pairing of a boomy downtempo dub track, Norah’s soulful vocals and drug paraphernalia-laden lyrics is reminiscent of the 1990, when everything was better.”